Does Walgreens do passport photos? Where to get one
Yes. Walgreens takes passport photos at most of its stores, with no appointment: two 2 × 2 prints for $16.99 and a free copy by email. Here is what CVS, the Post Office, Walmart, FedEx Office, The UPS Store and AAA charge, each read from its own page on 6 October 2026, and the 3-cent route you print yourself. Part of the passport size photo.

By Sahadat HusainUpdated 12 min readSizes
Does Walgreens do passport photos?
Yes. A store associate takes the photo at the photo counter, and you get two 2 × 2 prints for $16.99. A digital copy by email is free with the order. You need no appointment, and the prints are usually ready in a few minutes, Walgreens’ passport page says.
- Where: “most of our Walgreens locations”, so not every store. Check the store finder before you go.
- Online: no. Walgreens takes passport photos in store only.
- Babies and children: yes, all ages.
- USB drive: offered for an extra fee the page does not state.
- Other countries: the page lists 29 more, from Albania to Vietnam, among them Canada, India, Mexico and the United Kingdom.
Walgreens is not an acceptance facility. It takes the photo, but you hand in the application at a Post Office or another facility, or mail a renewal.
Does CVS do passport photos?
Yes, at select CVS Pharmacy stores with a Photo Center. Two 2 × 2 prints cost $17.99, a digital copy by email costs $3.99 more, and a USB drive $10.99. You need no appointment, and the prints come within minutes. CVS takes photos of babies and children too.
CVS’s page refuses visitors outside the US, so we read its passport page as the Wayback Machine saved it on 15 September 2026. Several guides still quote CVS at $16.99; its own page says $17.99.
Where can I get my passport photo taken?
At a pharmacy, a Post Office, a big-box store, a print and ship shop, or AAA. The State Department names three sources in its own words:
- An acceptance facility that will take a photo when you apply for your passport.
- Any company that offers photo services.
- A friend or family member.
It also warns that “acceptance facilities and photo vendors charge different fees”. It asks for just 1 photo with a paper application. The State Department’s photo page blocks visitors from here, so we read its last saved copy, from 10 July 2026; the page was last updated 24 March 2026.
| Place | Price | What you get | Digital copy | Appointment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Walmart | $7.64 | Prints, count not stated | Optional USB, price not stated | No |
| Post Office (USPS) | $15.00 | Prints, count not stated | For online renewal, fee not stated | Yes |
| FedEx Office | $15.95 | 2 prints, or a USB instead | USB in place of prints | No |
| Walgreens | $16.99 | 2 prints | Free by email | No |
| CVS | $17.99 | 2 prints | $3.99 by email, $10.99 USB | No |
| The UPS Store | Not stated | Varies by store | Not stated | Optional, online |
| AAA (one club) | Free for some members | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
- Walmart$7.64
- Post Office (USPS)$15.00
- FedEx Office$15.95
- Walgreens$16.99
- CVS$17.99
- Your own 4 × 6 sheet$0.18
Where a page states the count, the price of one print is simple to work out. FedEx Office comes to $7.98 a print, Walgreens $8.50 and CVS $9.00. You only send 1 photo, so the second print is a spare.
Does the post office still take passport photos?
Yes. Most Post Offices that accept passport applications can take your photo, for a $15.00 photo fee. Unlike the walk-in counters, they work by appointment: book online, at a lobby kiosk or at the counter. A few offer limited walk-in hours.
Of the places here, only the Post Office says it also takes your application, for its $35.00 acceptance fee. You can book a photo-only visit too. For an online renewal, many locations take a digital photo “for a fee”, which the USPS passport page does not state.
Walmart, FedEx Office, The UPS Store and AAA
Walmart
$7.64, the lowest stated price of any counter we read. Walk into the Photo Center at a Walmart Supercenter. Where a kiosk has a built-in camera, you take the photo yourself; otherwise an associate does. A USB drive for online renewal is optional. Walmart’s passport page does not say how many prints the price buys.
FedEx Office
$15.95 for two 2 × 2 prints or a USB drive with the digital copy, not both. No appointment. FedEx Office’s store pages say so, and the two we read printed the same words.
The UPS Store
Price not stated. Each store is a franchise, and The UPS Store’s page says prices vary by location. Over 3,900 of its more than 5,600 stores take online bookings. Call yours for the price.
AAA
Free for some members. At The Auto Club Group, one regional AAA club, Premier members get photos free and Plus members get their first two sets free. Classic members and nonmembers pay a “nominal fee” the page does not state. Other AAA clubs set their own terms, so ask your local branch.
Where is the cheapest place to get passport photos?
A free one at AAA if your membership covers it. Among the stores, Walmart at $7.64. And cheapest of all, a photo a friend takes, printed as one 4 × 6 print. The State Department lists “a friend or family member” as a source.
For the online renewal, you print nothing. You upload a digital photo, so a photo taken at home at the right distance costs nothing. A counter’s emailed copy works too: free at Walgreens, $3.99 at CVS.
Print your own: 6 passport photos on one 4 × 6
A 2 × 2 photo is 600 × 600 pixels at 300 DPI. A 4x6 photo size print is 1800 × 1200 pixels, so exactly 6 copies fit: 3 across and 2 down, with nothing to trim but the cut lines.

Take the photo
A helper stands about 4 feet away, facing you against a plain white wall, in even light.
Crop it to 2 × 2 inches
Our 2x2 passport photo page crops it to 600 × 600 pixels at 300 DPI and never stretches it.
Lay out 6 copies on a 4 × 6
3 across and 2 down, 1800 × 1200 pixels. Our test sheet saved as a 205.7 KB JPG.
Print it on photo paper
Matte or glossy photo paper, as the State Department asks. At home, or as one 4 × 6 print: $0.18 at Walmart’s list price on 6 October 2026.
Cut on the lines
Cut on the 2 inch lines and keep the spares for a visa or a second form.
Is CVS or Walgreens better for passport photos?
On their own pages, Walgreens costs less and includes the digital copy: $16.99 against $17.99, with the email copy free against $3.99. Both take walk-ins, both print in minutes, and both promise a compliant photo. Neither decides whether it passes: the State Department does.
| Walgreens | CVS | |
|---|---|---|
| Price, 2 prints | $16.99 | $17.99 |
| Digital copy by email | Free | $3.99, select stores |
| USB drive | Extra fee, not stated | $10.99 |
| Appointment | No | No |
| Which stores | Most | Select, with a Photo Center |
| Ready | A few minutes | Within minutes |
One thing to know before you sit down: CVS’s page says “You can’t smile in Passport photos”, and Walmart’s says “No smiling”. The State Department allows a natural smile with your mouth closed. The full rules, from what to wear to glasses, are in our guide to US passport photo requirements.
Which place fits your application?
Are you renewing online?
- Yes
Upload a digital photo
One taken at home, or a counter’s copy: free at Walgreens, $3.99 at CVS.
- No
Do you apply in person (a first passport or a child’s)?
- Yes
Book the Post Office
Photo ($15.00) and application in one visit.
- No
Walk into a counter, or print your own
$7.64 at Walmart to $17.99 at CVS; $0.18 for a 4 × 6 of your own.
- Yes
Whichever place you choose, the State Department wants a photo taken in the last 6 months, so an old spare from a past application will not do.
Read the full guide: US passport photo requirements: size, smile, clothes.
Questions
- Does Walgreens take passport photos?
- Yes. Most Walgreens stores take passport photos at the photo counter, with no appointment. A store associate takes the photo. You get two 2 × 2 prints for $16.99 and a free digital copy by email, Walgreens' own page says. The prints are usually ready in a few minutes. Walgreens does not offer passport photos online.
- Does Walgreens take photos for passports for other countries?
- Yes. Walgreens' passport page lists 29 countries beyond the United States, from Albania to Vietnam, among them Canada, India, Mexico and the United Kingdom. Each country sets its own size and rules, so name the country at the counter. For a country not on the list, ask the store before you sit for the photo.
- Can you walk into Walgreens for a passport photo?
- Yes. Walgreens says you do not need an appointment: come to the photo counter and ask a staff member. Not every store offers the service, since Walgreens says "most" of its locations do, so check the store finder or call first. Two prints cost $16.99 on Walgreens' page, read 6 October 2026.
- How much does Walgreens charge for a passport photo?
- $16.99 for two 2 × 2 printed passport photos, Walgreens' own page said on 6 October 2026. A digital copy sent by email is included at no extra charge. A copy on a USB drive costs extra, an amount the page does not state. That comes to $8.50 a print, and you only send 1 with a paper application.
- Does CVS take passport photos?
- Yes, at select CVS Pharmacy stores with a Photo Center, with no appointment. Two 2 × 2 prints cost $17.99, a digital copy by email $3.99 and a USB drive $10.99. That is CVS's page as saved on 15 September 2026. CVS uses a Kodak Moments system that checks the photo, and prints it within minutes.
- How much does CVS charge for a passport photo?
- $17.99 for two 2 × 2 prints, on CVS's own passport page as the Wayback Machine saved it on 15 September 2026. A digital copy by email costs $3.99 more at select stores, and a USB drive $10.99. Several guides still print $16.99, a price CVS's page does not show. That works out to $9.00 a print.
- Can you just walk into CVS for a passport photo?
- Yes. CVS says you do not need an appointment and you do not need to bring anything. Passport photos are only in select stores with a Photo Center, so check that your store has one. A colleague takes the photo with the Kodak Moments Passport and ID Photo system, and the prints come within minutes.
- Is CVS or Walgreens better for passport photos?
- On their own pages, Walgreens is cheaper. Two prints cost $16.99 with a free email copy, against $17.99 plus $3.99 for the copy at CVS. Both take walk-ins and print in minutes. CVS's page tells you not to smile, though the State Department allows a closed-mouth smile. The State Department decides whether either photo passes.
- Where is the cheapest place to get passport photos?
- Among the stores we read on 6 October 2026, Walmart at $7.64. AAA's Auto Club Group gives Premier members free photos. Cheapest of all is a photo a friend takes, laid out 6 times on a 4 × 6 print: $0.18 at Walmart's list price. For an online renewal, a photo you take yourself costs nothing.
- Where can you take a passport picture for free?
- At home, for the online renewal: you upload a digital photo, and the State Department lists a friend or family member as a source. In stores, AAA is free for some members. The Auto Club Group gives Premier members free photos and Plus members their first two sets. Other AAA clubs set their own terms.
- Does the post office still take pictures for passports?
- Yes. Most Post Offices that accept passport applications take passport photos, for a $15.00 photo fee, USPS says. Book an appointment online, at a lobby kiosk or at the counter; a few offices offer limited walk-in hours. Many also take a digital photo for the online renewal, for a fee its page does not state.
- What color shirt should you wear for a passport photo at Walgreens?
- Any colour that stands out from a white wall. No State Department rule names a shirt colour, but the background must be white or off-white, so a white shirt can blend into it. A mid or dark colour keeps your outline clear. Walgreens lists what is not allowed: glasses, hats, uniforms, camouflage, headphones and masks.
- Can I get a digital passport photo for online renewal at a store?
- Yes. Walgreens emails a digital copy free with its $16.99 prints, and CVS charges $3.99 at select stores. FedEx Office puts the copy on a USB drive for $15.95, in place of the prints. Many Post Offices take a digital photo for a fee they do not state. You can also take one at home.


